KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Tennessee senior quarterback Joshua Dobbs has been named to the 2016 College Football Performance Awards National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List.

Dobbs is one of 32 players on the watch list, which features 22 quarterbacks and 10 running backs from the Football Bowl Subdivision. The award winner will be announced on Jan. 11, 2017. He is also on the preseason watch lists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Wuerffel Trophy.

Dobbs started all 13 games for the Vols last season and is 14-5 in his last 19 starts. During that span, Tennessee has averaged 34.2 points and more than 424 yards of total offense per game. Last season, Dobbs threw for 2,291 yards and 15 touchdowns while also rushing for 671 yards — the most ever by a quarterback at Tennessee. He is one of just three SEC quarterbacks in the last 20 years to have 300 yards passing and 100 yards rushing in the same game — joining Johnny Manziel and Tim Tebow — having accomplished that feat twice over the past two seasons (against Georgia in 2015 and South Carolina in 2014).

The goal of the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) is to provide the most scientifically rigorous awards in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

The CFPA is in its ninth season of player and team performance recognition. Alabama’s Derrick Henry won the award in 2015.