Tennessee “Hands Free Law” goes into effect today

News

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WJHL) — Tennessee’s new law banning the use of handheld devices goes into effect today.

PREVIOUS STORY: Tennessee law to mandate hands-free devices behind the wheel on July 1

With the new law in place, authorities and retailers encourage drivers to make use of wireless options in cars to play music and communicate while driving.

PREVIOUS STORY: Local retailers advise wireless options for new “Hands Free Law”

Authorities will be looking for any driver holding a cellphone while driving.

Violators could face up to $100 on their first and second citation, but it increases to $200 if a crash is involved.

PREVIOUS STORY: THP urges drivers to prepare for hands-free law going into effect July 1st

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss