A law banning handheld devices while on the road will go into effect in Tennessee in less than one month.
Starting July 1, drivers will not be allowed to hold a cell phone while driving. Drivers are urged to use bluetooth devices.
Tennessee Highway Patrol’s Fall Branch division, which covers the Tri-Cities, tweeted out a warning to drivers that troopers will be looking for anyone not following this new law.
Violators of the new law could face a $100 fine. The citation could increase to $200 if a crash is involved.