ETSU professor among Maxine Smith Fellows honorees


Ten college and university faculty and staff members from across Tennessee have begun their year of leadership study and training as the Tennessee Board of Regents Maxine Smith Fellows Class of 2019.

One of the educators honored includes Hadii Mamudu, an associate professor of public health, East Tennessee State University.

The Maxine Smith Fellows Program is a leadership development initiative of TBR, providing opportunities for minority faculty and staff to participate in a working and learning environment that will enhance their work experience and career development – with a goal of increasing the number of qualified applicants from underrepresented groups for senior level administrative positions at TBR colleges and other institutions.

The program is named in honor of the late Memphis educator and civil rights leader who headed the Memphis Branch of the NAACP for 33 years, was a member of the Memphis school board and later served as a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents.

“We are proud that this  program, launched in 2003, has produced more than 100 alumni with leadership training, many of whom have advanced to executive leadership positions such as college presidents, deans, and department chairs, at colleges within the TBR system and elsewhere,” said Dr. Wendy Thompson, TBR vice chancellor for organizational effectiveness and administrator of the program.

Other members of the Class of 2019 – the program’s 14th class – are:

  • Cindy Beverley, student services coordinator, Tennessee College of Applied Technology Murfreesboro.
  • Sheraine Gilliam-Holmes, executive director and chief human resources officer, Austin Peay State University.
  • Jamica Hines, assistant campus director, Nashville State Community College.
  • Robert Jackson, creative services coordinator, Southwest Tennessee Community College.
  • Diane Jackson, instructor and business department head, Tennessee College of Applied Technology Chattanooga.
  • Shirleatha Lee, associate dean, College of Nursing, University of Memphis.
  • Meredeth McCoy-McCraw, assistant professor of mathematics and director of the A.A.S. business program, Columbia State Community College.
  • Anita Polk-Conley, professor of mathematics, Chattanooga State Community College.
  • Gwendolyn Sutton, vice president, Tennessee College of Applied Technology Memphis.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss