LIST: Grand jury indicts 16 in Northeast Tennessee meth distribution conspiracy case


GREENEVILLE, TN (WJHL) –  A total of 16 people have been indicted in a methamphetamine conspiracy case that stretches across the Northeast Tennessee region. 

On June 12,  a federal grand jury returned a 38-count indictment against the following: 

  • Leonard Wayne Mullinax, 48, of Gaffney, South Carolina
  • Jamie Nicole Wilson, 41, of Surgoinsville, Tennessee
  •  Edward Ray Walters, 47, of Surgoinsville, Tennessee
  •  Michael James Walters, 44, of Church Hill, Tennessee
  •  Corey Aaron Morelock, 29, of Surgoinsville, Tennessee
  •  Amber Lynn Hall, 29, of Surgoinsville, Tennessee
  •  Matthew Glenn Russell, 26, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  •  Christopher Lee Pyles, 43, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  • Destiny Lashay Lawson, 25, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  •  Megan Rose Moore, 39, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  •  Matthew Jacob Keirsey, 23, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  •  Jason Ronald Burchfield, 39, of Rogersville, Tennessee
  •  Beverly Ann Brooks, 33, of Kingsport, Tennessee
  •  Jimmy Lee Gray, 35, of Kingsport, Tennessee
  • Jacob Donald Meyers, 25, of Church Hill, Tennessee
  •  Jeannie Michelle Bowman, 45, of Surgoinsville, Tennessee 

An indictment alleges each suspect was involved in a conspiracy to distribute 50 grams or more of methamphetamine in the Northeast Tennessee Region.  

In addition, Edward Walters, Morelock, Hall, Russell, Bowman, Wilson, Meyers, and Michael Walters are also charged with possession of a firearm in a drug trafficking crime.

Edward Walters, Russell, and Bowman are each charged with an additional count of possession of a firearm in drug trafficking crime.

Some of the suspects are facing other charges related to the distribution and possession with the intent to distribute methamphetamine as well as the unlawful possession of firearms and money laundering. 

If convicted of the methamphetamine conspiracy charge, each faces a minimum prison term of at least 10 years and up to life in prison, at least five years of supervised release and a fine of up to $10,000,000.  

Since Edward Walters, Morelock, Hall, Russell, Bowman, Wilson, Meyers, and  Michael Walters face firearm violation charges they could spend a minimum term of at least five years and up to life in prison, (which must be served consecutively to any other prison term), up to five years supervised release, a fine of up to $250,000, and a $100 special assessment.

The second firearms charge against Edward Walters, Russell, and Bowman means they face a minimum mandatory 25 years imprisonment up to life imprisonment, (which must be served consecutively to any other prison term). 

A trial date for the individuals has not been set.  

The indictments were the result of an ongoing investigation and a partnership of several agencies, including Hawkins County Sheriff’s Department, Hamblen County Sherriff’s Department, Jefferson County Sherriff’s Department, Third Judicial Drug Task Force, Cherokee County Sherriff’s Department, U.S. Marshal Service, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, U.S. Postal Inspector, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss