JOHNSON CITY, TN – The East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine’s commencement ceremony on Friday honored the medical school’s 35th graduating class.

Sixty-two students received their doctoral hoods from class-selected hooders Dr. Robert Schoborg, a professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, and Dr. Jason Moore, an associate professor and clerkship director in the Department of Family Medicine.

Prior to the hooding portion of the event, more than 20 awards were presented to students in the Class of 2016, including:

  • Michael Franklin Neblett II, the recipient of the Ann Tranum Hawkins Award for Excellence in Women’s Health, which is presented to a student who has demonstrated exceptional involvement in activities promoting the health care of women;
  • Tina Louise Jackson, who received the Henry Clay Reister Award for starting a medical career later in life after having a previous career;
  • Amy Suzanne Haldeman Cohee, who was awarded the Leonard Tow 2016 Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to the student, as judged by his or her peers, who consistently demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of care to patients;
  • Caryn Elizabeth Brehm, who was awarded the Dean’s Distinguished Student Award by Dr. Robert Means, dean of the medical school. The award is presented to the senior student, judged by the clinical faculty and classmates, to demonstrate superb clinical skills and potential for becoming an excellent physician; and
  • Valerie Amanda Hansen, the recipient of the Cheryl L. McLemore, M.D. Memorial Pediatrics Award. This annual award was endowed to recognize an outstanding senior medical student who has been accepted into an accredited pediatric residency program. It was established by Eric Emerson in memory of his wife, Dr. Cheryl Leigh McLemore, a Quillen College of Medicine alumna who passed away last year.

ETSU President Dr. Brian Noland awarded diplomas to all 62 students. The program concluded with the administration of the Hippocratic Oath to the new doctors and all physicians in the audience. It was led by Dr. Richard Feit, professor and in the Section for Medical Education.